Bar Torre, For Some of the Best Sicilian Granita and Sicilian Pastries in Turin


I have been searching for a good Sicilian granita here in Turin for quite sometime. Granitas are a specialty of Sicily and come in many seasonal flavors. They are light, refreshing and full of flavor!

This past summer I worked in a restaurant called Nicola’s for the lunch shift. One day I asked my boss where to find the best granita in Turin and he said without a doubt it would be Bar Torre.

Seasonal summer flavors include strawberry, watermelon, pistachio and mulberry. But now the seasons are changing, so I decided to order the following: lemon, coffee and almond. One can add whipped cream to any flavor and so I did just that. All the granitas are made on the premises. I was told that I should order the home-made Sicilian brioche for it is a perfect pairing with the granita. One can order the brioche on the side but they also serve the brioche filled with granita. I decided to order the brioche separately so I could dunk it into the various types of scrumptious granitas. There are so many good things to try here…and it’s only a 10-minute walk from my apartment!

Bar Torre, Corso Regio Parco, 28 in Turin

Coffee Granita with Whipped Cream and Sicilian Brioche

Dunking the Sicilian Brioche into My Almond Granita with Whipped Cream

About Rachel Steckler

Culinarian, Slow Food Advocate and Jazz composer...living in Brooklyn
This entry was posted in An American in Turin, Italia, Piedmont, Restaurants in Torino, Restaurants in Turin, Street Food in Italy, Torino and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

